Executive Board

The Executive Board consists of 11 members, of which the President, the immediate Past President, the President Elect, the Secretary General, the Internal Auditor and the Treasurer, are responsible for the daily business of the association.

The President chairs the EAES Executive Meetings and the meetings of the Annual General Assembly in addition to representing the association to the outside world. The Secretary General is responsible for the administration and the Treasurer for all financial matters. The Internal Auditor provides an internal control system. These Board members fulfill their duties continuously throughout their term of office.

EAES Executive Board 2023 – 2025

Prof. George Hanna
Department of Surgical Oncology and Technology
Imperial College
London, UK

President Elect
Prof. Dr. Nicole D. Bouvy
Department of Surgery
Maastricht University Medical Center
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Immediate Past President
Prof. Salvador Morales Conde
Hospital Universitario Virgen del Rocío
Innovation in Minimally Invasive Surgery
Sevilla, Spain

General Secretary
Prof. Alberto Arezzo
Department of Surgical Sciences
University of Turin
Turin, Italy
Prof. Catalin Copaescu
Ponderas Hospital
Minimal Invasive Bariatric & GI Surgery
Bucharest, Romania

Internal Auditor
Prof. Nader Francis
Yeovil District Hospital
Yeovil, UK
Editor in Chief Surgical Endoscopy
Prof. Jaap Bonjer
Department of surgery
Amsterdam UMC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Chair Education & Training Committee
Prof. Miloš Bjelovic
Euromedik General Hospital
Belgrade, Serbia
Chair Guidelines Committee
Dr. Stavros Antoniou
Papageorgiou General Hospital
1st Department of Surgery
Thessaloniki, Greece

Chair Programme Committee
Dr. Suzanne Gisbertz
Amsterdam UMC, Department of Surgery
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Chair Research Committee
Prof. Thanjakumar Arulampalam
Colchester Hospital
Colchester, United Kingdom

Chair Technology Committee
Prof. Yoav Mintz
Hadassah Hebrew University Medical Center
Department of Surgery
Jerusalem, Israel

Past Presidents:

Prof. Salvador Morales Conde (2021-2023)
Prof. Andrea Pietrabissa (2019-2021)
Prof. Jaap Bonjer (2017-2019)
Prof. Eduardo Targarona (2015-2017)
Prof. Mario Morino (2013-2015)
Prof. Karl Fuchs (2011-2013)
Prof. Abe Fingerhut (2009-2011)
Prof. Antonio Lacy (2007-2009)
Prof. Gerhard Buess (2005-2007) †
Prof. Jack Jakimowicz (2003-2005)
Prof. Wolfgang Wayand (2001-2003)
Prof. Alberto Montori (1999-2001) †
Prof. Jean Mouiel (1997-1999)
Prof. Sir Alfred Cuschieri (1995-1997)
Prof. Hans Troidl (1993-1995) †
Prof. Jacques Périssat (1990-1993)

Upcoming Events